Who was the first speaker of Rajya Sabha?

(A) Zakir Husain
(B) Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
(C) V. V. Giri
(D) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Correct Answer : Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Explanation : Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan is the first speaker of Rajya Sabha. A person is Chairman of Rajya Sabha by virtue of being the Vice President of India. So the first Vice President of India was Mr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan. He became the speaker of Rajya Sabha in 1952. The Rajya Sabha is known as the Upper House of Parliament. Rajya Sabha is a permanent wing of the Parliament. It is not “subject to dissolution.” There are a maximum of 250 members in the Rajya Sabha, of which 12 are nominated by the President from different professions and sections of society.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : who was the first speaker of rajya sabha
Tags : India First, Rajya Sabha, Speaker
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *