Who was the First recipient of Param Vir Chakra

(A) Rama Raghoba Rane
(B) Major Somnath Sharma
(C) Piru Singh Shekhawat
(D) Jadu Nath Singh

Correct Answer : Major Somnath Sharma
Major Somnath Sharma was the first recipient of Param Vir Chakra. He was an Indian Army officer. Param Vir Chakra (PVC) is India's highest military decoration. Somnath was commissioned into the 8th Battalion 19th Hyderabad Regiment in 1942. He served in Burma during the Arakan Campaign of World War II, for which he was mentioned in despatches. Somnath later fought in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947. He has died on 3 November 1947 while evicting Pakistani infiltrators from Srinagar Airport. Param Vir Chakra (PVC) was given him posthumously for his actions before to his death.
Useful Quotations for : UPSC, IAS, SSC, RRB, IBPS, TET
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Tags : Awards and Honours, India First, Param Vir Chakra
Always Ask Questions