Who was the First Chairman of the Planning Commission of India

(A) Indira Gandhi
(B) Jawaharlal Nehru
(C) Rajiv Gandhi
(D) Vallabhbhai Patel

Correct Answer : Jawaharlal Nehru
Explanation : Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru was the first chairman of the planning commission of India. The planning commission was established on 15 March 1950. The Planning Commission was a body in the Government of India. It made India's Five-Year Plans, among other functions. After Independence of India, the planning commission was adopted. Accordingly the Planning Commission, reporting directly to the Prime Minister of India. Planning Commission was not obtained from the Constitution of India or statute; it is an arm of the Central Government of India. Present Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced his intention to dissolve the Planning Commission. It has been replaced by a new named NITI Aayog in 2014.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : who was the first chairman of the planning commission of india
Tags : India First
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *