Who was the First Chairman of Rajya Sabha

(A) Rajendra Prasad
(B) Jawaharlal Nehru
(C) Dr. S Radhakrishnan
(D) Vallabhbhai Patel

Correct Answer : Dr. S Radhakrishnan
Explanation : Dr. S Radhakrishnan was the first chairman of the Rajya Sabha session on 13th May 1952. The Rajya Sabha is known as the Upper House of Parliament. Rajya Sabha is a permanent wing of the Parliament. It is not “subject to dissolution.” There are maximum 250 members in the Rajya Sabha, of which 12 are nominated by the President from different professions and sections of society. The others are elected by the members of the legislative assemblies of the States and Union territories, who are elected by the people. The members of Rajya Sabha have a six-year tenure and one-third of the members retire every two years.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : who was the first chairman of rajya sabha
Tags : India First, Rajya Sabha
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *