The first three universities in India (Calcutta, Madras, and Bombay) were established in which year?

(A) 1857
(B) 1881
(C) 1885
(D) 1905

Correct Answer : 1857
Question Asked : RAS/RTS (Pre) 2010
Explanation : Magna Carta of Indian education system which was laid down on the Dispatch of Charleswood, 1854, established three Universities at Calcutta, Madras, and Bombay respectively on the model of London University in the year 1857.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : the first three universities in india calcutta madras and bombay were established in which year
Tags : Education Development in Modern India, Modern History of India
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *