Nucleus of an atom consists of

(A) Proton
(B) Neutron
(C) Proton and Neutron
(D) Electron, Proton and Neutron

Correct Answer : Proton and Neutron
Question Asked : SSC Section Officer (Audit) Exam 2003, SSC Tax Assistant (Income Tax & Central Excise) Exam 2004), SSC MTS (Non-Tech.) Exam 2014, SSC CPO SI, ASI Online Exam 2016
Explanation : The nucleus is the very dense region consisting of protons and neutrons at the center of an atom. It was discovered in 1911, as a result of Ernest Rutherford's interpretation of the famous 1909 Rutherford experiment performed by Hans Geiger and Ernest Marsden, under the direction of Rutherford. The proton-neutron model of nucleus was proposed by Dmitry Ivanenko in 1932. Almost all of the mass of an atom Is located in the nucleus, with a very small contribution from the orbiting electrons.
Useful Quotations for : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Tags : Chemistry, chemistry Question
Always Ask Questions