Who was the First Jnanpith Puraskar Winner

(A) Shankha Ghosh
(B) G. Sankara Kurup
(C) Ramesh Chandra Shah
(D) Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay

Correct Answer : G. Sankara Kurup
Explanation : The first Jnanpith Puraskar winner was the Malayalam writer G. Sankara Kurup in 1965 for his collection of poems, Odakkuzhal. Ashapoorna Devi was the first woman to win the Jnanpith Puraskar. She got this award in 1976 as Bengali novelist. The Jnanpith Award is an Indian literary award awarded yearly by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their "outstanding contribution towards literature". Instituted in 1961, the award is given only on Indian writers writing in Indian languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India and English.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : who was the first jnanpith puraskar winner
Tags : Awards and Honours, India First
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *