What is Padma Awards – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan & Padma Shri

Padma Awards, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri are given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by Government servants. The recommendations for Padma Awards are received from the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations, Central Ministries/Departments, Institutions of Excellence, etc. which are considered by an Awards Committee. On the basis of the recommendations of the Awards Committee, and after approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister and President, the Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day.
Read More : List of Padma Awardees 2019

Padma Awards
The Indian honours system is the system of awards presented to individuals for a variety of services to the Republic of India. Padma Awards were started in the year 1954. Besides brief problems during the years 1977 to 1980 and 1993 to 1997, these awards have been declared every year on Republic Day. The award is presented in three categories, namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. Padma Vibhushan is given for “exceptional and distinguished service.” It is the second-highest civilian award of India. Padma Bhushan is presented for “distinguished service of a high order.” It is the third-highest civilian award of India. Padma Shri is presented for “distinguished service.” It is the fourth- highest civilian award of India. Padma awards do not comprise cash allowances, benefits, or special concessions in rail/air travel. The decoration consists of a sanad (Certificate) issued under the hand and seal of the President and a Medallion. The remitee have also presented a replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any State functions etc. if they desire. These awards scrutinize to recognize work of any distinction and is presented for distinguished and exceptional service in all fields of activities/disciplines, such as art, literature and education, science and engineering, sports, medicine, social work, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry, etc.
Read More : List of Padma Vibhushan Awardees 2019

Padma Bhushan
The Padma Bhushan is the third-highest civilian award of the Republic of India. Its value is counted after Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan and followed by the Padma Shri. This award started on 2 January 1954. It is given for “distinguished service of a high order, without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex.” The award criteria comprise “service in any field including service rendered by Government servants” including doctors and scientists, but does not comprise those working with the public sector undertakings. As of 2018, the award has been given on 1240 individuals, including 20 posthumous and 94 non-citizen recipients. The Padma Awards Committee is constituted it annually by the Prime Minister of India and the recommendations for the award are accepted between 1 May and 15 September. When It was first started in 1954, twenty-three remitted were honoured with the Padma Bhushan. The Padma Bhushan, along with other personal civil honours, was briefly suspended twice, from July 1977 to January 1980 and from August 1992 to December 1995. Some of the remitted have returned their awards. A press release was published on 2 January 1954 from the office of the secretary to the President of India announcing the creation of two civilian awards namely Bharat Ratna and the three-tier Padma Vibhushan.
Read More : List of Padma Bhushan Awardees 2019

Padma Shri
Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. It is presented by the Government of India annually on India’s Republic Day. Padma Awards were started in 1954 to be given to citizens of India in recognition of their reputed contribution in various spheres of activity comprising the Arts, Literature, Education, Industry, Science, Sports, Medicine, Social Service and Public Affairs. It has also been given to some reputed individuals who were not citizens of India but did contribute in various ways to India. The meaning of words “Padma” lotus in Sanskrit and “Shri,” a Sanskrit-derived honorific equal to ‘Mr.’ or ‘Ms.’ appear in Devanagari above and below a lotus flower. The geometrical pattern on either side is in burnished bronze. All embossing is in white gold. The selection criteria have been criticized in some quarters with the claim that many highly deserving artists have been left out to favor certain individuals. India has now made an online nomination platform for the common citizens to recommend the nomination for the yearly given civilian “Padma” awards.
Read More : List of Padma Shri Awardees 2019

Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : what is padma awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *