The leader of the Bardoli Satyagraha (1928) was

(A) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
(B) Mahatma Gandhi
(C) Vithalbhai J. Patel
(D) Mahadev Desai

Correct Answer : Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
Question Asked : Uttarakhand PCS (Pre) 2005, IAS (Pre) 2003
Explanation : The Tebhaga Peasant Movement was initiated in Bengal in 1946 by the Bengal Provincial Kisan Sabha to implement the recommendations of Flood Commission, which asked for sharecroppers to give one-third of their harvest to the landowner instead of the one-half, which they were paying at that time. In its response, the Bargadari Act was passed which provided that sharecroppers pay only one-third of their harvest to the landlords. The Movement mostly affected the districts of Northern-Bengal.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : the leader of the bardoli satyagraha 1928 was
Tags : Modern History of India, Peasant Movement and Kisan Sabha
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *