The Man Booker Winners from 1969-2019 with Book/Novels

The Man Booker Prize Winners List with Book/Novels : General Awareness is a most important section in all competitive exams like UPSC, IAS, SSC, RRB NTPC, FCI, CWC, LIC, ESIC, IBPS, SBI, RBI, AAI, State Level Exams & Various Competitive Exams. Questions based on the Man Booker Prize are always asked in various competitive exams. In this post we are providing you an updated list of Man Booker Prize Winners.

Since 1946 to till date, List of all the chief ministers of Odisha.

Year Author Title [Genre(s)] Country
1969 P. H. Newby Something to Answer For (Novel) United Kingdom
1970 Bernice Rubens The Elected Member (Novel) United Kingdom
1970 (retrospective award) J. G. Farrell Troubles (Novel) United Kingdom
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State (Novel) United Kingdom
Trinidad and Tobago
1972 John Berger G. (Experimental novel) United Kingdom
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur (Novel) United Kingdom
1974 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist (Novel) South Africa
Stanley Middleton Holiday (Novel) United Kingdom
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust (Historical novel) United Kingdom
1976 David Storey Saville (Novel) United Kingdom
1977 Paul Scott Staying On (Novel) United Kingdom
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea (Philosophical novel) Ireland
United Kingdom
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore (Novel) United Kingdom
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage (Novel) United Kingdom
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children (Magic realism) United Kingdom
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler’s Ark (Biographical novel) Australia
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K (Novel) South Africa
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac (Novel) United Kingdom
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People (Mystery novel) New Zealand
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils (Comic novel) United Kingdom
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger (Novel) United Kingdom
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda (Historical novel) Australia
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day (Historical novel) United Kingdom
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession (Historical novel) United Kingdom
1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road (Magic realism) Nigeria
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient (Historiographic metafiction) Canada
Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger (Historical novel) United Kingdom
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha (Novel) Ireland
1994 James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late (Stream of consciousness) United Kingdom
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road (War novel) United Kingdom


Graham Swift Last Orders (Novel) United Kingdom
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things (Novel) India
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam (Novel) United Kingdom
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace (Novel) South Africa
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin (Historical novel) Canada
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang (Historical novel) Australia
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi (Fantasy and adventure novel) Canada
2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little (Black comedy) Australia
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty (Historical novel) United Kingdom
2005 John Banville The Sea (Novel) Ireland
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss (Novel) India
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering (Novel) Ireland
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger (Novel) India
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall (Historical novel) United Kingdom
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question (Comic novel) United Kingdom
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending (Novel) United Kingdom
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies (Historical novel) United Kingdom
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries (Historical novel) New Zealand
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Historical novel) Australia
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings (Historical/experimental
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout (Satirical novel) United States of America
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo (Historical/experimental novel) United States of America
2018 Anna Burns Milkman (Novel) United Kingdom
Northern Ireland
2019 Jokha Alharthi Celestial Bodies (Novel) Oman

Special Booker Prize Awards

  • Booker of Bookers Prize (1993) to celebrate Booker prizes 25 anniversary: Awarded to Salman Rushdie for Midnight’s Children.
  • Best of the Booker Prize (2008) to celebrate Booker prizes the 40th anniversary: Awarded to Salman Rushdie for Midnight’s Children following a public vote.
  • Lost Man Booker Prize (2010) awarded retrospectively because the eligibility period was changed from the previous year to the current year which meant no novel published in 1970 could win a Booker Prize. Awarded to J. G. Farrell for Troubles following a public vote.
  • Golden Booker Prize (2018) to celebrate Booker prizes 50th anniversary: Awarded to Michael Ondaatje for The English Patient.

Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : man booker prize winners
Tags : Awards and Honours, Winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *