List of all Presidents of India from 1947 to 2018

The President of India is the head of the Indian government. He is the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. He is known to as the first citizen of India.

The President of India is elected by the Electoral College composed of elected members of the parliament houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and also members of the Vidhan Sabha, the state legislative assemblies. His tenure is five years, as stated by article 56, part V, of the Constitution of India.

Till now, there have been 14 Presidents of India. Apart from these fourteen, three Acting Presidents have also been in office for short periods of time. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, is the only person to have held office for two terms. Varahagiri Venkata Giri became the Acting President in 1969 after Zakir Husain, died in office. Varahagiri Venkata Giri was elected President a few months later. He remains the only person to have held office both as a President and Acting President.

Before being elected Seven Presidents have been members of a political party. Six of these presidents were active party members of the Indian National Congress. The 12th President, Pratibha Patil, is the first woman to serve as President of India, elected in 2007. The present president of India is Ram Nath Kovind since 25 July 2017.

Name Tenure
Dr Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) 26 January 1950-13 May 1962
Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) 13 May 1962-13 May 1967
Dr Zakir Hussain (1897-1969) 13 May 1967-3 May 1969
Varahagiri Venkatagiri (1884-1980) (Acting) 3 May 1969-20 July 1969
Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah (1905-1992) (Acting) 20 July 1969-24 August 1969
Varahagiri Venkatagiri (1884-1980) 24 August 1969-24 August 1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977) 24 August 1974-11 February 1977
B.D. Jatti (1913-2002) (Acting) 11 February 1977-25 July 1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1913-1996) 25 July 1977-25 July 1982
Giani Zail Singh (1916-1994) 25 July 1982-25 July 1987
R. Venkataraman (B-1910) 25 July 1987-25 July 1992
Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999) 25 July 1992-25 July 1997
K.R. Narayanan (1920-2005) 25 July 1997-25 July 2002
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (Birth-1931) 25 July 2002-25 July 2007
Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil (Birth-1934) 25 July 2007 – 25 July 2012
Pranab Mukherjee (Birth-1935) 25 July 2012 – 25 July 2017
Ram Nath Kovind (Birth-1945) 25 July 2017 – till date

Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : list of president of india
Tags : President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *