The division of Mauryan Society into seven classes is particularly mentioned in–

(A) Kautilya’s Arthashastra
(B) Ashokan edicts
(C) the Puranas
(D) the Indica of Megasthenes
(E) None of the above/More than one of the above

Correct Answer : the Indica of Megasthenes
Question Asked : 63rd BPSC (Pre.) Exam 2018
Explanation : Indica is the book written by Megasthenes, the Greek ambassador to India around 300 Be. The division of Maurya society into seven classes was particularly mentioned in the 'Indica' of Megasthenes The Indians generally were divided into seven categories, the wise men (Brahmins), farmers, herdsmen, artisans, soldiers, over lookers and government officials including army and navy officers.
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : kautilyas arthashastra is a book on
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *