In which years, 26th January was celebrated as an independence day?

(A) 1930
(B) 1929
(C) 1942
(D) 1946

Correct Answer : 1930
Question Asked : SSC CPO Sub-Inspector Exam 2005
Explanation: The Puma Swaraj declaration or Declaration of the Independence of India was promulgated by the Indian National Congress on January 26, 1930, resolving the Congress and Indian nationalists to fight for Puma Swaraj, or complete self-rule independent of the British Empire. The flag of India had been hoisted by Congress President Jawaharlal Nehru on December 31, 1929, on the banks of the Ravi River in Lahore, modem-day Pakistan. The Congress asked the people of India to observe January 26 as Independence Day.
Useful Quotations for : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Tags : Modern History, Modern History of India, Modern History Questions, Modern History Quiz
Always Ask Questions