Bharat Ratna is the highest Civilian Award of India which was first given in the year and to the person

(A) The year 1948; C.V. Raman
(B) The year 1952; Lata Mangeshkar
(C) The year 1953; V Krishnamurthy
(D) The year 1954; Dr. Radhakrishnan

Correct Answer : The year 1954; Dr. Radhakrishnan
Question Asked : Chhattisgarh PCS (Pre) 2008
The ‘Bharat Ratna’ is the highest civilian award of India. First President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad ordered for establishing biggest ever civilian award ‘Bharat Ratna’ on January 2, 1954. The concept of awarding this award posthumously was not there in the original statute declared in January 1954. The first ‘Bharat Ratna’ Award was given to Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, C. Rajagopalachari and C.V. Raman in 1954. Madan Mohan Malviya and Atal Bihari Vajpayee were jointly honoured with ‘Bharat Ratna’ Award in 2015. So far, 45 persons have received this award till 2015.
Useful Quotations for : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Tags : Awards and Honours
Always Ask Questions