Ashtapradhan was a Council of Ministers

(A) In the Gupta administration
(B) In the Chola administration
(C) In the Vijayanagara administration
(D) In the Maratha administration

Correct Answer : In the Maratha administration
Question Asked : UPPCS (Mains) 2013, IAS (Pre) 1996
Explanation : ‘Ashtapradhan’ was a council of eight ministers constituted by Shivaji in Maratha administration. The eight ministers were 1. Peshwa, 2. Pandit Rao, 3. Sumant, 4. Amatya, 5. Mantri, 6. Sachiv, 7. Senapati, 8. Nyayadhish. (i) Peshwa : Prime Minister of King (ii) Amatya : Finance and Revenue Minister (iii) Mantri : Interior minister, managing internal affairs especially intelligence and espionage. (iv) Sachiv : Responsible for all correspondence. (v) Sumant : Foreign Minister (vi) Senapati : Maintenance of appointments, organization and food supply of military. (vii) Pandit Rao : Appointed for religious aid (viii) Nyaydhish : Chief Justice
Useful for Exams : UPSC, State PSC, IBPS, SSC, Railway, NDA, Police Exams
Like The Facebook Page CurrentGK for Current Affairs, Latest GK & Employment News
Web Title : ashtapradhan was a council of ministers
Tags : Maratha State and Confederacy, Medieval History of India
Always Ask Questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *