Under-19 Asia Cup title after defeating Sri Lanka by 34 runs in the final at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on 23 December, 2016.

This was India’s second win in the Asia Cup under-19 cricket tournament, having won the title in 2013/14 by defeating Pakistan by 40 runs and sharing the trophy in the first edition held in Malaysia in 2012/13.

India chose to bat first after winning the toss in the Asia Cup under-19 cricket final and thanks to brilliant performances from Himanshu Rana and Shubhman Gill, they finished their innings on 273/8. In response, Sri Lanka started well, but a couple of wickets from Rahul Chahar (3/22) and a couple more from Abhishek Sharma (4/37) resulted in a collapse where the hosts lost seven wickets for just 43 runs.

Brief Scores:
India Under-19s: 273 for eight in 50 overs (Himanshu Rana 71, Shubman Gill 70; Nipun Ransika 3/50, Praveen Jayawickrama 3/53).
Sri Lanka Under-19s: 239 all out in 48.4 overs (Reven Kelly 62, Kamindu Mendis 53; Abhishek Sharma 4/37, Rahul Chahar 3/22).

Man of the Match: Abhishek Sharma (India)
Player of the series: HJ Rana (India)