1. The President has the power to nominate two members to Parliament belonging to—
(A) Christian Community (B) Anglo-Indian Community
(C) Business Community (D) Sikh Community
See Answer:

2. Who was the Constitutional Ad-visor to the Constituent Assembly ?
(A) Dr. Ambedkar (B) Dr. Rajendra Prasad (C) Jawahar Lal Nehru (D) B.N. Rau
See Answer:

3. Who among the following was the President of Congress during independence ?
(A) Jawahar Lal Nehru (B) Mahatma Gandhi (C) Maulana Azad (D) Sardar Patel
See Answer:

4. Which of the following categories of Fundamental Rights incorporate ‘Abolition of Un-touchability’ ?
(A) The Right to religion (B) The Right to equality
(C) The Right against exploitation (D) The Right to freedom
See Answer:

5. Judicial Review in India is based on—
(A) Procedure established by law (B) Due process of law
(C) Rule of law (D) Precedents and conventions
See Answer:

6. Which one of the following is not included in the State List in the Constitution of India ?
(A) Police (B) Law and Order (C) Prisons (D) Criminal Procedure Code
See Answer:

7. There is a constitutional requirement to have a minister in the charge of Tribal Welfare for the States of—
(A) Assam, Nagaland and Manipur (B) Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan
(C) Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa (D) Manipur, Tripura, Meghalaya
See Answer:

8. How many seats did the Indian National Congress win on its own in elections to the 15th Lok Sabha ?
(A) 182 (B) 212 (C) 114 (D) 206
See Answer:

9. Which part of the Constitution of India refers to the responsibility of the State towards international peace and security ?
(A) Fundamental Rights (B) Directive Principles of State Policy
(C) Emergency Provisions (D) Preamble to the Constitution
See Answer:

10. What party won the largest number of seats for Maharashtra Assembly in the elections held in 2009?
(A) Shiv Sena (B) Indian National Congress
(C) Bharatiya Janata Party (D) Nationalist Congress Party
See Answer:

11. The maximum number of un-starred questions for a day in the Lok Sabha has been fixed at 230. What is this number in the Rajya Sabha ?
(A) 230 (B) 250 (C) 260 (D) No limit has been fixed
See Answer:

12. What is the minimum strength of the Legislative Assemblies of India prescribed by the Constitution ?
(A) 40 (B) 50 (C) 60 (D) 80
See Answer:

13. Which one of the following is not appointed by the Governor ?
(A) The Chief Minister (B) Advocate General
(C) Member of State Public Service Commission (D) Judges of the High Court
See Answer:

14. The Planning Commission was established by—
(A) An act of Parliament (B) An Ordinance issued by the President
(C) A resolution of Union Council of Ministers (D) The provisions of the Constitution
See Answer:

15. Which one of the following is not a constitutional body?
(A) The Finance Commission of the Centre (B) The Finance Commission of a State
(C) The Lok Sabha Secretariat (D) The Human Right Commission
See Answer:

16. The Vidhan Sabha of a State has 45 members. What would be the quorum to transact the business of the House?
(A) 5 members (B) 10 members (C) 23 members (D) 15 members
See Answer:

17. India is a republic because—
(A) The Head of the State is elected directly or indirectly by the people
(B) The Head of the Government is elected by the people
(C) The Government is responsible to Parliament
(D) The Constitution of India is supreme and made by a Constituent Assembly
See Answer:

18. The pension of a High Court judge is charged on—
(A) The Consolidated Fund of the State (B) The Public Account of the State
(C) The Consolidated Fund of India (D) The Public Account of India
See Answer:

19. Which of the following is pre-sided over by a person who is not a member of that House ?
(A) Lok Sabha (B) Legislative Council of a State
(C) Rajya Sabha (D) Zila Panchayat
See Answer:

20. The backward classes commission (Mandal Commission) was appointed under—
(A) An Act of Parliament (B) Article 16(4) (C) Article 340
(D) Constitution does not provide for the appointment of such a commission
See Answer:

21. Which one of the following is not the ground mentioned in the Constitution to impose reasonable restrictions on the right to form associations or unions ?
(A) Friendly relations with foreign States (B) Public order
(C) Morality (D) Sovereignty and integrity of India
See Answer:

22. Which one of the following has become a legal right under 44th Amendment ?
(A) Right to work (B) Right to education (C) Right to property (D) Right to judicial remedies
See Answer:

23. The power to determine the number of judges in a High Court lies with the—
(A) Government of the State (B) Governor of the State
(C) President of India (D) Parliament of India
See Answer:

24. How many members are nominated by the Governor in the Legislative Council of a State ?
(A) 1/3 of the total membership (B) 1/6 of the total membership
(C) 1/12 of the total member-ship (D) 12 members
See Answer:

25. Which one of the following bodies has the specific objective of considering the views of the States in preparation of Five Year Plans ?
(A) Planning Commission (B) Zonal Councils
(C) Inter-State Council (D) National Development Council
See Answer:

26. According to the provisions of Article 243, which of the following categories of the persons do not have mandatory reservations of seats in Panchayats ?
(A) Scheduled Castes (B) Scheduled Tribes
(C) Women of all categories (D) Backward Classes
See Answer:

27. Which of the following provisions of the constitution can be amended by Parliament by a Simple Majority ?
(A) Creation of new States in the Union (B) Fundamental Rights
(C) Directive Principles of State Policy (D) Provisions related to Panchayati Raj (Article 243)
See Answer:

28. Which one of the following Schedules is not directly related to the functioning of the Indian Federal system ?
(A) First Schedule (B) Second Schedule
(C) Fourth Schedule (D) Seventh Schedule
See Answer:

29. Which one of the following Preventive Detention Acts is still in force ?
(A) NSA (B) TADA (C) MISA (D) Preventive Detention Act
See Answer:

30. Dr. Rajendra Prasad held the office of the President of India for a period of—
(A) 5 years (B) 10 years (C) 7 years (D) 12 years
See Answer: