Former Union Minister Najma Heptulla has been appointed Governor of Manipur, an official statement said on 17 August.

Read : Current Governors of States | All States Governors 2016

BJP leader Jagdish Mukhi has been appointed as the Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, V P Singh Badnore as Governor of Punjab, and Banwarilal Purohit the Governor of Assam, according to a statement by Rashtrapati Bhavan.